WhatsApp Now Lets You Recall/Delete Messages Sent By Mistake: How it works

Have you ever send wrong message to someone in WhatsApp? Or say, by mistakenly sent an unwanted or adult joke in Family Group or College or Office Group in WhatsApp? Yes. Even i did that. But that's always a mistake. What you tried to do after doing such mistake. Ofcourse, tried deleting it. But it gets deleted in your chat and remains visible to other person in the group. This generally happens when you are multiple conversation at a time. But now that is not the case. Every person using WhatsApp must have thought one feature that would have saved them from being embarrassed is to recall/delete the message from the whole group.


The recall message, officially called Delete For Everyone, is now available to most WhatsApp users in India. The feature that started rolling out on Friday morning is now seemingly reaching almost everyone. And the best bit about it is that you don't have to necessarily update WhatsApp to get it.

According to WhatsApp, hitting delete will replace the message you sent with the following text: “This message was deleted.” That means if you do drunk-text someone, they’ll still be aware of your late-night social faux pas, but they just won’t see the contents of your message.

To delete a message, follow these steps:
 - Open WhatsApp
 - Navigate to the chat with the offending message
 - Tap and hold the message
 - Choose Delete from the menu
 - Optionally, select multiple messages to delete several items at once
 - Tap Delete -> Delete for Everyone

The feature will only work for both the parties if the sender and recipient are using the latest WhatsApp version. The feature is said to work for all kinds of messages on the most widely used instant messaging app. The report says it will work for all texts, images, videos, GIFs, voice messages, contact, files, location, quoted message, and status replies on WhatsApp.
WABetainfo notes that WhatsApp at the moment does not recall a message contained in a quoted message. Messages cannot be deleted for everyone if they are sent in a broadcast list. It also adds that messages will not be deleted on the Symbian app, so those users will continue to see the recalled message. The site adds that in its current implementation, WhatsApp will not notify the user that the message has been deleted.
It also only works within 7 minutes of sending the message - after that, the message can't be recalled. Deleted messages will be replaced by "This message was deleted for everyone." Based on the initial report, the sent message will be deleted from the chat page as well as from the notifications pane.

This was must of the most requested feature by users. Now that we have got this, lets see how it works in future.

Cheers!!!
loading...
Previous
Next Post »